He Can and He Will

Gold Can Stay

The words “I can’t” are not really part of my vocabulary.

“I won’t,” “I’d rather not,” and occasionally “I shouldn’t” do make their appearances.  But “I can’t” by and large stays away.

IMG_0927So, when I was told recently that there is no way I can help my son recover the year of reading instruction that appears to have eluded him over the course of the last academic year in eight short weeks of summer vacation, I took it as a personal challenge of sorts.  I was told that I can’t, so now, even though we would have anyway (despite the fact we shouldn’t have to), we will.

We unplugged the television, put away all video games, instituted an in-home reading recovery program, and are availing ourselves of magnificent and highly effective software.

Plus we have a highly motivated student–one who after just a week is picking up books around the house…

Ver la entrada original 161 palabras más

Responder

